Falling for Pharmacy

The time on my watch slowly approaches 9 o’clock. I haven’t been sleeping well these past few nights, perhaps it’s the heat, or the arrangement of my pillows are just not giving me the proper sleeping angle. I semi- sigh as I approach our second branch. Putting my back in my locker I move towards the door that says ‘Staff Only’, and from the moment my hand touches that door handle new life is breathed into me and all the worries of the morning slip away.

This has been my life from April 3rd. Prescriptions. Drugs. Compounds.  It’s exhilarating and I love it. I would like to believe in my nearly four years of working life, this right now, right here is the happiest and most content I have ever been. I love it.

Life in the pharmacy is so different. It’s so fast paced and constantly evolving. And even on the days when I don’t feel like going to work, don’t feel like dealing with those annoying coworkers, I go for the love of the dispensary.

I have to admit, this isn’t a career choice I have longed for or even considered in the past. Forensic Anthropologist? Yes. Pharmacist? Not so much. In fact, I, at one point in time, flat out said I did not want to go into pharmacy.

I am a person that get’s bored and tired of things very quickly and I use to see pharmacy as a stagnant, uneventful career choice. However, as secretary, I often found myself wandering the dispensary going there via any means necessary. I guess just like Moana and the Ocean, it called me.

A call should always be answered, especially a call to better. So slowly, but surely each and every day I’m learning new things, and appreciating all the things the Pharmacy has taught, is teaching and has yet to teach me.

So when someone asks what I do, I’ll say “Me? I’m just slinging pills to pay the bills.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

