My Island

On a day when you don’t feel like going out but still do, on a day when the sun shines a bit brighter that it usually does, on a beach somewhere, a glass of specially made rum punch awaits you and the sea, warm and calm invites you in.

My Sunday was this blissful. I was invited out on a boat ride across the Dominican waters. Who knew where we’d end up?

whatsapp-image-2017-06-11-at-3-14-33-pm2.jpg

We set sail a bit late, leaving the dock at Loubiere and ending up at Portsmouth for a bit. It felt relaxing, peaceful, and for the first time in a long time, I forgot about my worries. But alas our tummies rumbled like the waves against the boat so we set sail to Toucari for a bit of lobster, fish and goat at Keepin’ It Real Toucari.

As the sun began to set we decided to sit still and enjoy a swim at the beach before heading back to port.

WhatsApp Image 2017-06-11 at 5.34.00 PM.jpeg

I began to wonder, how many more sunsets like this do I have left to see? Will I truly miss them as much as they say I will? Will the sunsets there look like the sunsets home? Or will the sunsets home only be found by the ocean…

One thought on “My Island

Leave a Reply

