Monthly Round Up-Nov

Hey guys! So my last post was sometime in October and I didn’t even do a creole post! So I’ll incorporate October into this November monthly round up. I’m in the process of creating new sections and content for my blog so in the new year be prepared for 100% more wynie.

October:

Erika couldn’t match the resilience of the Dominican people and although WCMF was cancelled, we still partied on. The weekend when this festival was suppose to happen had several more events. In the words of my friend “When creole fest cancel is then Dominica have more fete.” She was oh so correct.

I on the other hand couldn’t afford to party every day, mostly because my body and mind wouldn’t allow it. However, I did make sure that I went to Carib Beer Fest where I was Ola-ing on a Rental. Olatunji Trinidad’s Groovy Soca artist 2015 and Farmer Nappy headlined this event and although I wish they could have played longer, their performances did not disappoint.

Other events for that weekend included NCCU’s Cadence Lypso Competition, Marigot’s Farmer Relief Concert, Dane Jah Dane in Harlem Plaza along side Triple Kay and many more.

Did I mention I went to a rave? Jello shots every hour ftw.

Rewinding a bit, Creole Day was still as creole-ly as ever.Wait is creole-ly even a word? Well it is now. Like last year I also sported a wob dwyet, the full national wear. I love the wob so much as it symbolizes not only culture but prosperity. The national wear reminds me of the stuggles my country had to make not just for independence, but every single day in this modernized world. I am blessed to be surrounded by such a rich culture. I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

November:

Bonne Journee Independance Dominik! Dominica celebrated its 37th year of Independence this year on November 3rd. The customary military parade took place from 8 am Tuesday November 3rd with Dr. Carissa Etienne Director Pan American Health Organization (PAHO), receiving the island’s highest award of honour, The Dominican Award of Honour. The second highest award, the Sisserou Award of Honour, went to Senior Counsel Anthony Waddy Astaphan.

I also took my first test in phamacology! And failed. That’s life I suppose, I just need to try harder next time. Actually, I’m taking part in this pharmacy technician course offered at my work place to pharm techs in order to help them become better at this job. This seven-month training is no easy task, but I’m enjoying it so far. Participating in this course has awakened the science side of me and I feel sort of happy that I get to do it.

I also got invited to my company’s dinner and pool party! I’m excited to experience this for the first time.

“At the end of the day, let there be no excuses, no explanations, no regrets.”
― Steve Maraboli, Life, the Truth, and Being Free

Well that was my November…see you in December.

Leave a Reply

